HomeCaulfield Cup 2021

Caulfield Cup 2021

The Caulfield Cup is one of Australia's premier thoroughbred races and also one of the richest.

The race is ran over a mile and a half (2400m) and takes at Caulfield Racecourse in October each year.

Some of the world's best horses will travel to Melbourne to contest the $3m race with many of those hoping to land a rare Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup double.

Run since 1987, the Caulfield Cup has a rich history and is widely seen to be Australia's second most popular race behind the Melbourne Cup.

Caulfield Cup 2021

Caulfield Cup Betting

It's no surprise that there is a massive amount of money wagered on the Caulfield Cup every year. Since the race opened it's doors to international runners in 1998 the race has proven to be more difficult to predict.

When you're betting on the Caulfield Cup there many things to take into account. There are a number of handy lead-up races such as the Herbert Power Stakes, Mornington Cup, Yalumba Stakes and Kelt Capital Stakes which are all run over 2000m and have proven to be good form guides.

Historically horses that get too far back in the running have struggled in the Caulfield Cup. With a number of meetings held at Caulfield in the lead up to Cup day the rail is often pushed out making it more difficult for back markers to make ground if they're not on the rail.

Caulfield Cup Field

The Caulfield Cup only allows 18 horses to enter the field. Hundreds of horses nominate for the race each year before the final 18, plus 4 emergencies, is decided by a ballot system.

The ballot system takes into account major factors such as wins, prize money and results leading up to the race.

The barrier draw for the Caulfield Cup takes place in the week leading up to the event.

Caulfield Cup - Melbourne Cups doubles

There have been a number of horses who have been able to complete the Caulfield Cup/Melbourne Cup double. It has proven to be extremely difficult in recent years with the last winner of the double being Ethereal back in 2001.

Double winners include; Ethereal (2001), Might and Power (1997), Doriemus (1995), Let's Elope (1991), Gurner's Lane (1982), Galilee (1966), Even Stevens (1962), Rising Fast (1954), Rivette (1939), The Trump (1937) and Poseidon (1906)

Learn more about the Caulfield Cup HERE.

Caulfield Cup Replay


Forgot your password?